Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!
Sign up

A8S receiver partly binds to FS I6X and works in BF

stefanpala

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
5
Age
24
Location
Iasi, Romania
First off, the I6X does not recognize the receiver with the appropriate RX battery display. On the other hand, the A8S is somehow bound to the transmitter because the LED is not blinking when the TX is turned on.
If I want to bind again, rapid flashing by the A8S is followed by slow flashing when the I6X is turned on in bind mode. Betaflight does not recognize the transmitter either, as no input is visible on the receiver tab.

I resoldered the connections from the 4-pin module to near the USB port as the picture shows (which is UART1); when connected to betaflight, it suddenly works on the receiver tab, ALTHOUGH the I6X does NOT show RX power.
I am puzzled by what this means, and I will come back with updates.
 

Attachments

  • 263407193_442145687398822_185112111771552867_n.jpg
    263407193_442145687398822_185112111771552867_n.jpg
    108.6 KB · Views: 2
  • 263494600_469221331239690_1894530610121209672_n.jpg
    263494600_469221331239690_1894530610121209672_n.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 2

Fast and Curious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Messages
162
Reaction score
65
Age
49
Does it work? the A8s doesn't have telemetry so won't show up on the radio. The receiver does ppm and Ibus. It is easy to mix it up or not have the flight controller set to the correct input. You want to be on Ibus for reduced latency. Not sure about that soldering. Make sure to twist the wire and tin before soldering. If there is a hissing sound the bec (power supply) is damaged by too much draw from a short. A smoke stopper will make everything much safer. Joshua Bardwell has great videos explaining how to make one, why you need one and what it does.
 

stefanpala

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
5
Age
24
Location
Iasi, Romania
Soldering's fine. My father didn't let me do it because it's so small, so he did it and he has over 30 years of experience in electronics. But yea, I configured it in iBus.
100% did not know that the A8S doesn't report back, so basically I will have to rely on my OSD feed to see when the battery voltage is low, correct?

Other than that, when I armed it (propless) and gave it a bit of throttle, the motors kept picking up speed, so this is the issue I will address today.
I've seen tons of Joshua Bardwell videos, his work is so dedicated.
Thank you for your input!
 

Fast and Curious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Messages
162
Reaction score
65
Age
49
If the motors are propless or you don't give it enough throttle to fly the motors will slowly spool up to make adjustments and keep on going because it is propless and can't do anything. This effect is bigger in angle mode. Try putting props on, air mode off (just for now) and try take off while not having it sitting for too long. I too was concerned with the same thing when I started but found the quad worked.
 

stefanpala

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
5
Age
24
Location
Iasi, Romania
As soon as I uploaded that response I watched Joshua's video on this issue. Performed a hover test and it went surprisingly smooth.
As far as I am concerned, this thread can be closed, the issue has been resolved.

To recap, A8S V2 (apparently I have V2) does not show on my radio, which means I have to rely on the OSD camera feed for drone battery info.
I simply resoldered to a different UART and now BF detects the transmitter also.
Thank you for your support! From all the forums I read, there was no indication that the A8S receiver does not appear on your transmitter screen, only the red LED works, that's what did me in. Other than that, so far so good.
 
  • Like
Reactions: okw

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
4,624
Messages
37,813
Members
3,963
Latest member
Crutch