Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Beginner to drone racing 4s or 5s?

Onyx

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to drone racing and I'm picking out my components to build my first racing drone, but I am hesitating a lot between getting a drone that runs on 4s batteries or 5s? Will it make much a difference? Which one is better?
Thank you :)

Most of the world runs 3s and 4s, 5s is crazy power and fast, likely more than someone new can control. You're going to crash a lot in the beginning, 5s will make it worse and be more expensive to repair, 4s is plenty fast, but having something that is 5s capable will allow you to grow into it over time if the quad lasts that long.
IMHO

Just noticed you just joined the forum @Onyx, welcome!

If you're just starting 4s will be plenty fast, and really the whole world of mini quads just started with 4s not that long ago, and before that 3s was the cats meow. The new 5s capable stuff is definitely the new hot lick but also adds weight and cost. I will be getting my first 5s or 6s capable quad but will be running 4s on it for the foreseeable future.

What are you looking to build or buy? Is this your first race quad and have you ever flown one before?

Just noticed you just joined the forum @Onyx, welcome!

If you're just starting 4s will be plenty fast, and really the whole world of mini quads just started with 4s not that long ago, and before that 3s was the cats meow. The new 5s capable stuff is definitely the new hot lick but also adds weight and cost. I will be getting my first 5s or 6s capable quad but will be running 4s on it for the foreseeable future.

What are you looking to build or buy? Is this your first race quad and have you ever flown one before?
Thank you, i joined the forum yesterday, it's been very helpful :)