Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Custom 3d printed airframes, covers, bodies and chasis - Work with a 3d print designer - Is there a demand for this service in the FPV racing market?

Art Hob

Reaction score
Hello,

I am an industrial designer, who specializes in product development in custom fabrication with a specialty in 3d printing. I design prototypes and other limited production pieces for products, models, props, costumes and more. I reverse engineer existing components from developers and then integrate 3d design with those pieces to create custom frames and housings using 3d printing.

I am developing a drone frame that can be entirely 3d printed, with aesthetics in mind, think of an aerodynamic shell with ribbing inside and slots for pcb inserts and clips for wires, all built into the print.

I regularly see racing drones and other FPV designs that are open electronics and wires, with obvious considerations for weight. However, some designs are also 3d printed, and I wanted to challenge myself to design a frame that allows the flyer to style and encase their drone in a shell that makes FPV less of a hacker DIY aesthetic and turn it into a Hot Rod aesthetic, while creating an easier assembly experience and reducing the number of components needed to create a frame.

I offer my design services to a variety of clients, and I am looking to create an opportunity into a new product genre.

Based on your experience as pilots who race or go to events, is there a sufficient demand for FPV drone racing 3d print designs? Would the experience of working with a designer and styling your own build with a custom frame be sought after? What limitations in demographic size or technical specs would need to be considered? What kind of service or experience would attract your attention?