Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Help needed: standalone camera for FPV

Ghost606

Reaction score
Hi all. New here and needing some advice.

I'm new to quads, and bought a cheap copter recently.
It flies great, but its onboard camera has a reliable reception range of about 30 feet! (wifi connection) and even at close range it's laggy. Meaning it's all but useless for fpv.

As it's not a kit drone, I dont want to be chopping it up and messing with the internals, if I can help. The original cam is also good for recording video, onboard. So I want to keep it.

So, what I am wondering is...

Is there a standalone, small, light, camera, with it's own power supply, and decent range (only needs to be up to 250m, as that is the drone max), that can connect to an FPV headset. Something that can be literally strapped to the copter body, connected independently to a headset, and away we go? Cheap would be a bonus too. I'm not looking for 4k cinematic, or anything. Just a basic flying experience, and I don't want too many salty tears, if it "lands" in a lake!
;)

I've done a lot of searching, but I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the various kits and bits out there.

Thanks for any info you folks can offer.

Hi all. New here and needing some advice.

I'm new to quads, and bought a cheap copter recently.
It flies great, but its onboard camera has a reliable reception range of about 30 feet! (wifi connection) and even at close range it's laggy. Meaning it's all but useless for fpv.

As it's not a kit drone, I dont want to be chopping it up and messing with the internals, if I can help. The original cam is also good for recording video, onboard. So I want to keep it.

So, what I am wondering is...