Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Newbie needs some advice

Brewzer

Reaction score
Hi guys im new to quad racing/freestyle and I could really use some help.

I have just purchased the following items:

Is this everything im going to need? I have a feeling that im going to need some other antennas but i have no clue what i will need for my parts. also do i need anything extra to connect my transmitter to my drone? I have just spent a lot of money and want to make sure i have all the things i need to avoid disappointment. any help or advice it greatly appreciated

Reactions: Wayno52
Firstly, as this kit is PNP, you'll have to install a receiver. As yo have a QX7 transmitter, I'd suggest the R-XSR. Also, I notice you've ordered 4S lipos but this is a 6S beast. Do you have a lipo charger?

Hey thanks for your reply. Yes I noticed it's a 6s quad, but I also learned that this can take 4s battery which might be easier to begin with, then After a month or so ill buy a 5s or 6s. The look charger is listed in my first post. It's just a cheap one.

Thanks for the transmitter advice. Sorry what I PNP? Can you provide a link to the R-XSR, when I searched for it lots of stuff came up

In terms of antenna for my goggles what would I need?

Okay just googled PNP....I thought it was going to have everything :( so I guess I'm going to have to buy a receiver and solder everything to it? That's a bummer

I’d look at getting an xt60 parallel charging board to go with that charger. That charger on your list is only good for 2-4S by the way.
Definitely need hand tools: sidecutters, cable ties, heat shrink tubing, torx head drivers (2 mm, 2.5mm, maybe a 3 mm), medium loctite (blue), liquid electrical tape, double sided tape.
As noted above, you’ve ordered 4S batteries and the quad is good for 6S. If this is your first racing quad, maybe not a bad idea but heh, you only live once...

Last edited: