Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

newbie trying to build their first fpv race drone

flyingace1916

Reaction score
I am a newbie to the fpv drone world, I have previous experience with drones(dji mavic's and stuff like that) but I wanted to get into fpv drone freestyle. I'm currently trying to pick out parts to build my own but I'm lost. A few questions I have are
1) Do you need 1 brushless esc for each motor as well as a power distributer board or is it one or the other?
2) Is there a difference between a 4in1 esc and a power distributer board, or are they the same?
3) Do all flight controllers need to be soldered and programmed or are there any that come with the soldering already done and the board programmed with options or software to change it?
4) Do all electronic components need to match power ratings such as having a 45amp flight controller, a 45amp esc, a 45amp motor, or can it be a 3-4s flight controller, 4s esc, and a 3-4s motor?
5) what do the different "kv" numbers mean? I'm guessing its some sort of rpm or speed rating but as I said, I'm a newbie so I could be completely wrong.
6) If possible could someone give me a list of different compatible parts or multiple of each that would work with one another?

Last edited:
-A power distribution board (pdb) just spreads out the wires basically, making it easier to solder the ESC's. The ESC's put power through different wires as the magnets on the bell align with different parts of the stator.

-A pdb spreads/splits out the wires and the 4 in 1 ESC is 4 ESCs in 1 board. 4 in 1s are smaller, lighter, more convenient, more expensive to replace, well worth it in my opinion.