Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Not very new but first post

Jeff A

Reaction score
Hello all. I come here from the Mavic forum and have the same screen name both places. I have so many questions that don't know where to begin. Let me tell you of my goals and of my background:
  • I purchased my 1st drone nearly two years ago, a Mavic 2 Zoom. After about a year I upgraded to a Mavic 2 Pro for the better camera. I still fly my Mavic 2 Pro.
  • Because drones have re-kindled my interest in photography, I have been anxiously waiting for the release of the Mavic 3. The announcement of the Mavic 3 price has totally cooled off my desires for the M3.
  • I have been fascinated with the DJI FPV drone from the beginning because I am an experienced pilot but can no longer fly due to medical & financial reasons. I am a retired Corporate Pilot with 18,000 + hours of flight time.
  • I'm now considering the FPV drone, not for extreme aerobatics but for the sensation of flying and of course, photography.
So let me begin with my basic questions if you are still with me at this point:
  1. With the basic controller, can I attach my iPad Mini as a viewing device?
  2. With the standard or optional; "Stick Controller" is the a still photo button?
  3. In the opinion of those who own or have flown with the Motion Controller, how much does that contribute to the realism of the flying experience?
  4. What equipment would I need to use Simulator software?
Thanks if you have stuck with me to this point. I look forward to hearing from you.

Welcome to the forum 👍

Reactions: FPV Flier
Welcome to the addiction known as FPV. I also have the same screen name, but haven't been there in a loong time.

I don't have the DJI FPV Drone but did get the Mavic 2 Pro when it first came out. First let me say that flying a "FPV" style quad is different from your typical DJI quad.