Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Serious Defect: Too Much Fun

rktman

Reaction score
Really.

I've been flying DJI drones for 7 years. Never, not ONCE, has this ever happened to me.

I was just out, flying at home, launching off my back deck. Flying with the MC, I was an Ace in an fighter jet. Having a blast.

RTH kicked in for safe return, I was close to home so I canceled it and started heading back on my own (about 1200 feet away), Well, started having too much fun with the MC on the trip back, forgot what I was doing. The short of it is, I ended up at critical battery, forced landing, not in a good place.

I was lucky. 0% battery, starting at 250ft altitude, and just close enough to get it back over houses and trees to the court in front of my house. All the while descending without any choice. It was close with really no margin to spare.

I know what you mean about having to much fun! It's a blast! I fly off my back patio sometimes but I always keep an eye on my battery %.

I have been flying long enough for the RTH to kick in but wasn't that far out. The thing is, your having so much fun seems like the battery lasts no time!

Reactions: DroneJunkieQc
Hi, I do not have the Dji fpv so am just making assumptions. With a traditional fpv drone you must not fly until it drops. The battery will be severely damaged and the quad may catch fire. Although the Dji fpv has more safety features, say it is bad to fly it down to 0% but now it also has to descend from 250ft.
Can it show battery voltage and is it setup where you should stop at 25% or at 0%?

It shows battery percentage, remaining time, warns you to come back when needed based on distance and current battery level, then initiates auto return if you ignore it... It does a lot to ensure you never get below 10% but there will always be people ignoring all of it.

Last edited:
Well, to be fair (to me 😁 ) I didn't ignore it, just decided to fly back myself.