Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Cant Bind Old Taranis X9D with FuriBee x215 (XM+)

Reaction score
I'm new to RC (well, modern RC anyway). I played with RC in the past, but life happened and I didnt have time/money for it. Last time I played with RC was basically the same month the Taranis come out (I purchased one of the first batch to be released). That was 4 or 5 years ago?

I've recently purchased a couple of RTF Drones and I'm slowly getting the hang of flying.
I only really played with ground based vehicles before, well, successfully at least.
I've just purchased a FuriBee x215 Pro with XM+ Rx from Gearbest.
I couldnt get my old Taranis to bind to it. It just refused to bind at all.
So, looking at the firmware on the Taranis I realised it was hopelessly out of date.
I upgraded the Open-TX from 1.1.02 to 2.2.1 thinking that might fix things.
I now realize that was wrong (its the XJT module that talks to the Rx), but the upgrade was a good idea anyway (gave me more options,and the bootloader).
Using the bootloader, I upgraded the builtin XJT module in my Taranis from whatever it was to the latest LBT version (XJT_EU_V20_build170317.hex.frk from fr-sky website)
Again, I try to Bind and again, nothing.

To Clarify:
* Put the Taranis in Bind Mode with Mode D16, Channel Range : CH1-16 1-16
* When pressing bind I get 4 options, I select the top option "CH1-8 Telem ON". These 4 options I have never seen on any youtube videos, must be to do with the latest Open-TX firmware. Hope I'm guessing correct.
* The Taranis starts chirping (3 high pitch fast beeps then a pause), repeating indefinitely
* Power on the XM+ on the FuriBee with the bind button held. Both Red and Green lights go on solid on the XM+ It does not matter how long I hold down the bind button, nuthing different happens.
* release the bind button on the XM+ . Still nothing changes (red and green light on XM+ are still on & the Taranis is still chirping).