Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

is take off in manual supposed to be this hard?!

D_dep

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to fpv, after watching a number of fpv for beginners videos it seems that you can take off in manual with just the throttle and maybe a slight pitch adjustment. But that's not the case for my dji fpv.

In manual mode, if I gently raise the throttle, the front motors are moving more aggressively if I don't adjust the pitch quickly it causes the drone to flip backwards every time. This is all while the pitch is centered and drone on a flat surface.

Am I doing something wrong or does the drone need some calibration?
Thanks,

Taking off in manual mode needs a little more authority. A quick bump of throttle and a little forward pitch is the best way to get clear of the turbulent air generated when you are close to the ground. Trying to gently lift off is actually more difficult.

Reactions: A.O.
You have to "go for it", not hesitate, and no problem. Since it sits tilted it goes forward straight away naturally.

This starts with a manual takeoff:

And one seen from outside:

Reactions: raspberry
You have to "go for it", not hesitate, and no problem. Since it sits tilted it goes forward straight away naturally.

This starts with a manual takeoff:

And one seen from outside:

wow that's pretty smooth, are you an experience fpv pilot? mine looks nothing like that, i'm gonna try to film it next time.

I've been flying FPV quads basically since they appeared about 13 years ago, but then pretty much nothing other than assisted stuff like Mavics for the past 4-5 years so I'm a bit rusty... but it seems it's like riding a bike, you don't forget much :)

At least this thing is exactly what I needed to draw me back into it. Now I really want to fly but weather's been garbage :(

In short: YES.