Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Viewing Angle Video

RH009

Reaction score
So, @Chaosrider@brilliantfrogs got me thinking about the different viewing angles we FPV pilots can fly at. He's starting out in Manual Mode flying at -20° viewing angle, which I think threw a few of us for a loop... a NEGATIVE viewing angle to fly FPV, why would you do that? In all my FPV flights, I've never attempted to fly with a negative view angle, and wondered what it would be like. Would you even be able to fly the drone, while looking down? How hard would it be to control? Would it be harder or easier to hover? Hmmm, how about we just test the different angles and see, that seems like a good idea.

So I went out and did 7 loops around a field, flying from -30° to +30° and every 10° in between. Now, I'm no expert FPV pilot, and I still count myself as a young (old) padawan when it comes to FPV, but I was fairly surprised by the results. At -30°, it felt almost impossible to fly and felt like to gain any speed, I was looking straight at the ground. However, at -20° it was actually quite easy to fly, although a lot slower than I'm used to and no real good view of the horizon. I think the easiest viewing angle to hover at was -10°, with a decent view of the horizon and ground. Took me a moment to get my bearings, but then the hover was fairly easy.