Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Beginners tips/experiences in M mode

thetechnobear

Reaction score
I guess a few of us with the DJI FPV are new to fpv, and full manual mode - so perhaps we can share some tips, and our experiences.

I'll give the obvious ones to start...
(Im a noob, flew mavics, but new to fpv, but now flying M mode - still early days)

- Practice on a SIM first (!)
the DJI FPV is too expensive, fragile, takes too long to repair to attempt to learn to fly M with the drone (imho)

sure, sims feel different to flying the real drone... but they allowed me to build up muscle memory for the controls...
I started on the sim as soon as I got the fpv, flying it in the evenings... it was frustrating at first, but it comes to you.
after about 6 hours (?) in the sim, I was very confident with controls and knew i was ready to give it a go for real ... at high altitude, with little risk, ready to hit pause!
that sim practice made the first manual flight enjoyable!

- DJI Sim or another sim?
I found the goggles + dji sim gave me motion sickness,
I actually learnt using Velocidrone...so don't worry if you don't have an iOS device, you actually are not disadvantaged.
the DJI sim is good later, to get used to the goggles and M mode, but it not vital ( I think physics are not as good)
(I used Velocidrone, as I didnt want to install Steam, but Im sure Liftoff / DRL are also just as good)

- disable coordinated turns for S mode (settings)
automated coordinated turns are a nice feature, but you are not going to have them in M mode, so better get used to doing them yourself in S mode :)

- cruise control
Ive heard getting used to cruise control in S mode is a good step to M mode, since its closer to throttle/pitch in M mode.
however, I did not try this... but I can see the logic of it

- unsprung throttle