Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Dang leaves!!

A.O.

Reaction score
So spring/early summer is in full bloom here in the Paradise state which means the deciduous trees are all leaved out once again, BUT, that limits the places I can fly to. Where I fly there is a lot of woods with trails, and open fields etc. I used to be able (winter) to fly over the trees and then drop down into one of these fields or trails and fly around but not any more! If I'm up over the woods and swoop down into a field I lose signal as soon as I dip below tree line, didn't used to be that way and the dang leaves are the only thing I can think of to cause this "new" problem. Oh well, I'm still learning!

Yes foliage will make any of them loose signal if there say
lots of trees between the 2 of you. Just make sure you do have your RTH set high enough to clear them if your flying over then dropping down. If flying down those trails set it to hover.

I’ve noticed that as well, once spring hits it feels like a trees that were a non issue in winter are sucking up all the RF! Also, I’ve noted reports of people thinking they are having range problems with the Mavics tic up in the spring.

Yes foliage will make any of them loose signal if there say
lots of trees between the 2 of you. Just make sure you do have your RTH set high enough to clear them if your flying over then dropping down. If flying down those trails set it to hover.
Yes and yes... Almost screwed up a couple times but survived..

Reactions: dirkclod
If you can get above the tree tops yourself where you are positioned flying it helps a ton! Reduces the length of foliage the signal has to pass through by a great deal. Usually not practical, but if it is keep in mind… you can have an amazing flight down in the trees if you can sit up on the hillside above them.