Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Need help with precision turns

Made2Phly

Reaction score
Complete noob obviously, with the new DJI FPV. My turns often end with me sliding sideways, or sometimes even backwards, particularly when executing a U - turn. This does does not seem to happen in the sim. What am I doing wrong? Plz & Thnx.

Stick coordination... can't really explain that. Spend more stick time training :)
You probably got used to the sim, but since it doesn't respond like the real thing you now have to forget that and relearn...

Reactions: FPV Flier
Try tilting and not tilting back when turning and check COG, adjust battery if it is not correct. Once I found my 5inch was flipping one way faster then another so check in BF that stick movement is perfect.

Try tilting and not tilting back when turning and check COG, adjust battery if it is not correct. Once I found my 5inch was flipping one way faster then another so check in BF that stick movement is perfect.
I need some acronym edumacation: what do COG and BF mean?

He's using the DJI FPV drone, none of that applies.

This book really helped me. (There’s a digital version you can purchase too somewhere.)
The author really breaks everything down so well that you’ll know why your quad isn’t doing what you want (or why it’s doing what it’s doing), and the gimbal movements you need to control it. I can’t recommend it enough.

Another thing that helped me was the two Daily Drills vids put out since March by TheTomJohn on YouTube.

EDIT: (spelling) TheTomJon <—-

Last edited:
Complete noob obviously, with the new DJI FPV. My turns often end with me sliding sideways, or sometimes even backwards, particularly when executing a U - turn. This does does not seem to happen in the sim. What am I doing wrong? Plz & Thnx.

which mode are you in with the DJI FPV?

as you talk about a sim, I assume you're in M mode?

what camera angle are you using?