Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Rates and PIDs - match Silverware firmware with simulator

Valrani

Reaction score
Hello,
First of all I hope this question has not been asked many times on this forum, I'm also a total newbie in this hobby so I will do my best to be understandable :)

So I bought my first FPV drone ever, the Betafpv Meteor 65 lite. The FC seems to use BETAFPV LiteSilverware firmware.
I'm learning the basics of controlling the drone in Acro mode with this simulator : Orqa FPV Skydrive (available on Steam).

After many hours on the sim I tried to fly the drone, but it's not really the same, I'd say the drone react way more rapidly with small movements on the radio sticks.
I read online that PIDs and Rates are what define the sensibility of the sticks (more or less, I'm a newbie). So my goal is to
1. lower the sensibility of the sticks, especially in the center
2. try to have the same sensibility on sim and drone !

Here are "screenshots" from the goggles with my drone, and from the simulator. My problem is to understand what the values represents, especially for the RATES in my drone. The value of "Rate" and "Rate_yaw" seems to be 840 and 500 respectively by default, and ranges from 0 to 1500 or something.
I don't understand what theses numbers means in comparison with the simulator, or even curves that I found online like this one :

I'm completely lost unfortunately :oops:
If someone can explain me to understand how to do what I want, that would be nice.

Attachments

• IMG_1978.jpeg
    IMG_1978.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_1979.jpeg
    IMG_1979.jpeg
    539.6 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_1980.jpeg
    IMG_1980.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 5
  • IMG_1981.jpeg
    IMG_1981.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
Reactions: D_The_Producer
First off, do not adjust the PID's. That is set at the factory and unless you have lots of experience, I would not mess with it.