Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

FPV Waypoint or Auto Flight path

brekaydrone

Reaction score
Hi all - I am a new drone pilot, still trying to get my bearings with the DJI FPV. Its been pretty easy to learn so far. My intention for use is to video / time-lapse the progression of construction sites that my company is installing. With this, it would be so helpful to be able to use a Waypoint type app, but I'm not finding any yet that support the FPV. I've checked 'DroneLink' and 'DroneDeploy' so far.

That is very much the wrong aircraft to use for this. There are no intelligent flight modes or any third party app support, and the gimbal doesn't really lend itself to that kind of shoot either.

Reactions: dougcjohn and Haggi
That is very much the wrong aircraft to use for this. There are no intelligent flight modes or any third party app support, and the gimbal doesn't really lend itself to that kind of shoot either.
I appreciate it. I tried to tell the people who bought it at my office that it was not the right drone for the application. But they saw something fancy that was new. We do have an older phantom that is much more appropriate, but the camera isn’t as nice. Am I able to upgrade the camera on that phantom? I think it’s a phantom 3.

Nope.
For waypoints missions from DJI you'd want a Mavic 2 or Mavic Air 2 (the latter using 3rd party apps only), nothing newer has waypoint support. Mavic 3 is rumored to release soon and with a bit of luck it'll support that again and would satisfy the "shiny new" untold requirement...
The FPV is awesome but for dynamic footage and more "organic" hand-flying, i.e. the exact opposite of the others and the repeatable precision you need...

On the good side, maybe you can have some good fun flying it while you "try to make it work" :D

Last edited:
MA2 does support Waypoints missions in Hyperlapse with DJI Fly App....